National Commission of Senior Citizens

The National Commission of Senior Citizens (NCSC) is a commission created to, among others, ensure the full implementation of laws, policies, and programs of the government pertaining to senior citizens; review and conduct studies on the same; and recommend appropriate actions thereon to Congress and the President. The Commission itself is attached to the Office of the President. The Commission has a Chairperson and six members.

Section 11 of Republic Act No. 11350, which created the Commission, transferred “[a]ll functions, programs, projects and activities which are being undertaken by the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) for the formulation, implementation, and coordination of social welfare and development (SWD) policies and programs for the poor, vulnerable and disadvantaged senior citizens” to the Commission.